Video Games and all dem tings

So E3 (Electronic Entertainment Expo) has come and gone and I don’t know about you but as the biggest video game NERD in Jamdown my head is still spinning from all the stuff I’ve seen.  Now i coud rant on and on for hours about all the new entries coming to a system near you for maybe the next hour but I’m going to pick a couple of things and give a short history lesson where needed.

I’ve been playing video games since the Atari 2600 so yeah itz been ages and with every system they move closer to virtual reality.  Not that VR will make the games better (as I think the best systems were the NES, Super Nintendo and the Playstation 2) but just the opportunity to see technology grow excites the heck out of me.

This year’s E3 didn’t let up on excitement as the Big 3 threw down hard with Nintendo (my fave VG company) announcing the release of their new system, The Nintendo Wii U.  Now don’t get me wrong I love games on other systems as well but the fun factor has always been high with Nintendo who always have said fun over graphics.  Nintendo though seems to be going after hardcore gamers who have scuffed at Nintendo’s offerings in the past because of graphics.  Their new system will be more powerful than both the Xbox 360 and the PS3!  So for all the Sony and MS fanboys, what now?

I mean this year was suppose to be the year all the companies went to their new systems as on an average systems are usually on a 5 year cycle before the next gen systems come out but because of the recession and the fact that turnovers haven’t been as fast Sony and Microsoft decided to get as much out of the existing systems as possible.  Not being biased (maybe a little) but Nintendo won this generation hands down making profits off the first set of systems to go out and then continuing the trend while the other two operated at losses for years to recover the cost of building their flagship systems.

But enough on that!  Said I would keep it short.  The Sony Vita is a new handheld and has me excited. After owning a PSP and having all the multimedia at my fingertips this is a true upgrade. Sony tried but failed with the PSP Go so this is a direct competitor to the Nintendo 3DS with Gryoscope and way improved graphics among other sweet features.  Coming to some hands near you (hopefully mine).

Now to the games!  This is year liek so many years in the past, the scene was taken over by Army type games.  From Halo to Battlefield to Modern Warfare it’s all about guns and blowing ish up.  I love Halo and the fact we’re getting not one but two Halo titles soon but I miss playing fantasy games which is why the new Fable has me excited.  I mean are we training soldiers or something?  Zelda as well put a smile on my face but we know Nintendo will be showing this one at maybe the next 2 or 3 E3 shows..

Not going to lie though between the first person shooters and the third person shooters, the few car games and even fewer puzzle games it was a good E3 and like the NBA Finals is the best in years.  This event is defintely on my list of places to go before I die.

Peace

Check out my top 3 for very system I’ve ever played

Leave a Reply

