Retro Blog – Bad Experience at a Hotel In Negril

As I may have mentioned before I started blogging in 2003 on MSN Space and even now my head is reeling that it closed down and I never had a chance to save my stuff.  A part of me is lost forever.  I did have part tiem jobs on the internet back then as well and one of them that I applied for required I send in a copy of one of my blogs.  So I was cleaning up my PC and saw what you will read below.

I’ve been blessed to travel to 20+ hotels around Jamaica and I use to use my blog as a review for all the hotels I travelled to. Even though this blog was written in 2007 the experience I get from all these places stick with me and my sentiments have not changed.  If you have been there and you disagree or agree please leave some feedback.

Peace.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Travellers Beach Hotel – My experience

Well I spent my vacation at a place called Travellers Beach Hotel but that was not originally the plan. The plan was to stay at Fun Holiday Resort but because of some mix up we got transferred to TBH. Just to say though that the staff I met at Fun Holiday were very nice, always smiling and were even asking us some questions about homework for one of their kids and that’s how laid back and fun at the same time we as Jamaicans can  and should be. I was only there for 15 minutes maybe but it was worth it. I will be going back there the next time.

Now back to Travellers. After going from Fun Holiday to here with all the smiles and warm welcome, it was like a change from heaven to hell. Went in and stood at the check in counter but the guy who was there never even greeted and stood there looking blankly so I took the initiative to tell him about the transfer. Without even a change in facial expression he handed me a card to fill out and informed me that someone would soon come to take the bags. Long and short is, he didn’t look to happy to see us. I’m not sure if it was because I was Jamaican or he just found out his girl left him dry but geeeez. Anyways while in the lobby I noticed that there were people telling the guests (and these were Spring Breakers) about the hotel and the attractions and stuff like that, so then some thing came to me and I asked the same guy if there were all inclusive packages available. He again looked blankly at me and said “you haffi to talk to food and beverage about dat”. OMG. Do I live here? Where is that I said to myself but he offered no directions and I didn’t ask because I was getting perturbed.

After being carried to the room I realized there were no bulbs so while out on a walk I asked one of the cleaning ladies about it. She said she would see what she could do. Later after going back to the room there were bulbs but alas they didn’t work. The beds were hard and the water in the shower took 30 minutes to recede as there was something wrong with the drain opener on the tub.  At this point I’m not a happy camper.

I finally found the Food and Beverage Dept. which as I assumed was near the beach front   ( but I still should have been given directions) and saw a bunch of workers just lazing. I needed a spoon so I asked one of the guys. He looked at me and then said “Yow unooo get a spoon fi me nuh”. I stood there for 15 minutes while he was on his cell and smiling at some Caucasian woman.  This is day one of my three day vacay.

I won’t say much more about the hotel because the only time I spent there after that was for sleep and for maybe one or two other activities (use your imagination or don’t).  Below are pics of the hotel and some of the stops I made and always make when in Negril.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh there was one good thing about this place. It had good water pressure.

At check out time it happened to be a young lady so I thought okay, maybe a different response…Nope. She had me stand up waiting on her while she was on the phone for about 15 minutes and even transferred calls to people in the lobby. The management too was not much better because through their office door they saw me standing there and it was after that 15 minutes that one guy came out and said “yes”. I handed him the key and after looking in the computer he kinda did something with his head like in a nudge motion which I guess meant “we dun wid you now”.

Anyways I won’t be going back transferred or not.

2 out of 5 stars (Water Pressure save dem from get 1).  The other one was for a roof over my head at nights.

Ainzlee

So that was the review back then… I did stay at one hotel worst than this one but that is another BLOG…

Leave a Reply

