Who is the Bigger H of the Car World? Honda vs. Hyundai

It was 2001 and a new movie series was about to hit the scene that would become my favorite as well as fuel a car craze in my home country of Jamaica, the likes have not happened before it and hasn’t been matched since. It was Fast and the Furious and even though you may think that I must be joking it helped to start Honda off as a brand people just couldn’t get enough of. I can still remember all the revving engines and screeching tyres after that and every Fast and the Furious to follow. Even if you don’t think they are the greatest auto action movies ever you have to admit that they left you energized.

Even though Honda had a following before this movie hit, the brand grew exponentially especially in Mandeville where every other car was a Honda. What? you think I’m lying? People will testify that Mandeville became known as Honda Town. Half of them were souped up running on NOS or bigger engine and if you were part of that crew don’t ever say you had a non-VTEC engine.

I also got caught up in the hype to the point where I have never owned a car unless it was a Honda. But 5 Hondas later another H is catching my eye in a way I never thought possible.  For the Fast and the Furious fans I know you remember Tokyo Drift when Han said, “What? You thought I was going to let you drive around in a Hyundai?” Six years after making that statement a lot of people who laughed are actually giving Hyundai a second look.

I’m not sure exactly when it started to go wrong but it happened in a blink of an eye.  More cars in my hometown were Toyota and Nissans and there would be rare sightings of  an old school civic. The Honda Civic and Accord 2005 came out and there seemed to be hope but somewhere after that Hyundai also seemed to change their game plan.  It changed so drasticaly that jaws dropped at some of the designs to come.

What did Honda do? Nothing as far as I am concerned. The year is 2012 and the new designs for their lines don’t impress me much. At this point in time, I’d buy a Hyundai over any of the new offerings Honda has. Yes, I was a die hard fan of the brand. And yes, if they came with something not just new but impressive I would by Honda once more but for now I’m disillusioned and looking for a new brand. Those Subarus look nice too.

Anyway, this was a rant more than a comparison and I’m interested in knowing your views on the matter.  Is Honda washed up in your opinion? Would you buy Hyundai?

Disclaimer : I don’t own all pictures shown.. Some were obtained from the web while the others are my personal pics…..

Peace

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “Who is the Bigger H of the Car World? Honda vs. Hyundai

  1. Honda seems to be resting on it’s laurels. they are also focusing on other products(jets,motorcycles,small engines, in this soft automotive market.
    Honda still makes a very high quality product,and their Acura division is still making the sports, and luxury products where as honda makes the more main stream products.
    Hyundai has come a long way baby and is still on the rise with a nice blens of economy, excitement, and luxury they need a little bit more sporty go go with the flashy styling though. I was mnever really a honda fan even though I had to give them their props, and I too would buy a Hyundai today.

    • That coming from you, the famous armchair racer, means a lot. Yes it seems their focus is elsewhere but seeing how profitable their civic line has been, you would think they would keep that cash cow and the people who love it happy at least

    • I love HONDAS but as I stated but my loyalty to the brand is waning. I really hope they can turn it around and get back their throne. In the past few years Hyundai has been winning car of the year awards and Honda has been getting criticism from experts and multiple recalls too.

  2. Here’s the real deal, the Civic is still a significant car for Honda in the US and other parts of the world, even though it has been discontinued in the JDM. The youth of today who are buying new cars are not so much into tuning and modifying cars like 10-5 years ago, they are more interested in the entertainment technology, and dded value things like gas mileage, and warranty etc. these kids just want to drive to school, work, or to party without much fuss.

  3. Yes, it’s true and a new generation will embrace a new H unless Honda sees and jumps in on this paradigm shift. I was not aware the civic was discontinued stateside.. Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

