Battle of the Smartphones : Apple iPhone vs. Samsung Galaxy S3

I’m in the market for a smartphone. I’ve been without a smartphone for over a year and even though I am over the whole withdrawal period, I still crave the power of being mobile and connected to the rest of the known universe. Yes, it has been hard but in anticipation of getting a job after finishing my course of study, my first real purchase will be a new smartphone. I am a blackberry fan because I love buttons. Nothing like the feel of them but with the announcement of them also going fully touch screen I’ve decided to go with what seems like more advanced options as Blackberry seem to be a little behind in the tech race too..

Now if I was to talk about all the points look for in a phone I’d be here all day so let me cut it down and point out a few that are very important to me.  Those two are productivity and integration. Now I do use my smartphone for media including music and games but that is not my primary reason for ever buying a phone. My reasoning is usually how much work can I get done on this device without actually having to be around a desktop or laptop.  Can I track my progress at the gym? Are my finances balancing?  Do i have access to a decent word processor and email access as well? Having these features and them being available with ease of use usually make the choice easy.  Integration is also very important. Not having to transfer files of whatever kind from device to device when I’m ready to work at home or work instead of on the go is key. The time saved if these are all readily accessible is indeed invaluable.

Click link here for comparisons of both phones. 

So here it comes. I have identified two phones that meet these needs and some. They are the Samsung Galaxy S3 and the Apple iPhone (I’d wait on the 5 to come out). But another set of requirements that i did not think about came up. When I was in Jamaica even though both phone services had equal strengths i went with the one that most people were on because of the cheaper rates and other benefits that if I had joined LIME instead of Digicel may have had me switching sooner or later.

The same thing has come up again. My girlfriend, brother and numerous friends have iPhones and communication between these devices are brilliant (Thanks to Steve. Rest In Peace Mr. Jobs). It would allow me to sync and share and be a part of an already established network and a part of the bright future Apple has created.  Sounds great huh? My problem with Apple though is why I love the Samsung. My problem is lack of freedom.  I am basically stuck in a system with Apple and not able to explore the many different paths as I would be able to with a Galaxy S3. Yeah, I know. Apple is a safe choice as their system allows them control and the ability to weed out bad experiences which may not be possible on any other device out there.

Before this turns ugly let me stop and say that even with all the apps available on the iPhone, I love certain features on the Galaxy S3 in terms of hardware. So right now its hardware vs. software and integrated “closed but brilliant” experience over freedom to explore.  I guess when the time comes and I have cash in hand it will come down to eenie meenie minie mo.  What are your thoughts?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Battle of the Smartphones : Apple iPhone vs. Samsung Galaxy S3

    • Phones will always get bigger and better but what meets your needs the best? I have learnt that if you wait too long an era can pass you by

  1. The Samsung has got my vote! Not fond of blackberry’s, I-Phones etc. mainly because of the excess hype created. BUT the specs on the Samsung are pretty nice!

    • Definitely Android but since I’ve heard they might release the Note 2 this yr I may wait it out!!! we’ll see 🙂

Leave a Reply

